top of page

Blood Stained Dress I


Really delighted to take part in the Icing Room publication, Everyone's Asking If I'm Ok/No One's Asking If I'm Ok. The project featured objects, performances and interventions, from across the globe during the weekend of 6-8th April 2018.

My own contribution is an extension of the Block-Chain>Power of Two residency, which explored UK Period Poverty, its causes and impact (barriers, isolation and entrapment).

Blood in art, often depicts acts of heroism, elevating the individual to martyrdom. My embroidered piece Blood Stained Dress, celebrates the banal to explore period poverty. Traditionally white dresses symbolise purity, but also represents unattainable ideals. Menstrual taboos and scepticism, intensifies the isolation of those suffering period poverty. The empty white dress, photographed across Godalming, Surrey, contrasts romanticism with reality, as the scene changes from a sunny rural idyll to a muddy pool.

bottom of page