top of page

3 months in Seville


Seville was amazing!!!! I arrived in late April, when weather was like the English summer, giving us time to acclimatise It definitely wasn’t a holiday, as we had work, language classes and a course to study for, but it was great to be living in such vibrant city, with so many great things to do.


Palm Trees in Seville

There were 100's of churches, fantastic galleries and museums, the Roman city Itallica (with its impressive artefacts, preserved in the local museum), and lots of exotic architecture, and tilled vistas across the city.

Seville and the Andalucía region is a cross between being in Spain and the Middle East. The city is filled with exotic Moorish tiles, carvings and beautiful court yards with sunken gardens and water features. There are many museums, churches, galleries and places of historical interest to visit in the city. The city is really cheap; beer is €1.20, the only thing cheaper is water from a tap!

In Seville people are really happy to see rain and a grey day, something you don’t often hear in the UK! In mid June, the temperatures soared to the high 30's to 45 degrees. As it is so hot in the day, many shops close between 2-5pm, then stay open until 8-9pm, also as it is catholic country, few shops, expect those catering for tourists open on a Sunday.

I found the remains of the Seville Expo 92 site really interesting, as I remember hearing about it at the time – 24 years later I finally got to go! It is a really strange place, with some buildings reused, but with many sites left to decay, like an overgrown funfair.

Although I spent much of my time in Seville, but did go further afield to Cadiz, Granada, Cobora and Faro, in the Algarve, Portugal.

I love Spain - so wish I could have stayed longer!!! Even more pictures of my trip can be seen on my Flickr page.

bottom of page